weareokay

Synopsis

Marin hasn’t spoken to anyone from her old life since the day she left everything behind. No one knows the truth about those final weeks. Not even her best friend, Mabel. But even thousands of miles away from the California coast, at college in New York, Marin still feels the pull of the life and tragedy she’s tried to outrun. Now, months later, alone in an emptied dorm for winter break, Marin waits. Mabel is coming to visit, and Marin will be forced to face everything that’s been left unsaid and finally confront the loneliness that has made a home in her heart.

Teal Review

***I RECEIVED THIS BOOK AS AN ARC COPY FROM PENGUIN RANDOM HOUSE IN EXCHANGE FOR AN HONEST REVIEW. THANK YOU AGAIN TO THE PUBLISHER FOR SENDING ME A FREE ARC COPY.***

So to start off I absolutely LOVE the cover of this book. It was the first thing that drew me in before I even read the description. Going into this read, it was a little different than I thought it was going to be. The reason I gave in three stars and not two was because I really enjoyed the ending of the book. The way that Marin turned out made me feel good and like I could put her character to rest in my mind without wondering what became of her once I finished the book. The reason that I have this book three stars and not four was because I had a hard time connecting with the characters. This book should have been a quick read, it’s only about 240 pages, however I found myself not wanting to read the next chapter because I had a hard time caring about the characters and the story line. This was my first Nina Lacour book and I am going to be starting Everything Leads to You next. I am still unsure whether or not I like her writing style and character development methods. I am still very happy I read this book but I probably wouldn’t pick it up again and wouldn’t recommend it unless someone is looking for a mindless read about loss, anger and forgiveness.

Happy Reading!

xoxoSarah

Leave a Reply

