assassin

Publisher Synopsis

Celaena Sardothien is Adarlan’s most feared assassin. As part of the Assassin’s Guild, her allegiance is to her master, Arobynn Hamel, yet Celaena listens to no one and trusts only her fellow killer-for-hire, Sam. In these action-packed novellas – together in one edition for the first time – Celaena embarks on five daring missions. They take her from remote islands to hostile deserts, where she fights to liberate slaves and seeks to avenge the tyrannous. But she is acting against Arobynn’s orders and could suffer an unimaginable punishment for such treachery. Will Celaena ever be truly free? Explore the dark underworld of this kick-ass heroine to find out.

Teal Review

**SPOILERS ALERT**

Hello readers! Let me just start off today’s blog post by sta-OH MY GOSH THIS BOOK RIPPED MY HEART OUT, SPIT ON IT AND THEN STUFFED IT BACK IN!!!!

Let me take a breath and calm down for a second…okay so to start off. I made the choice of reading The Assassins Blade after reading the first six books of the Throne of Glass series and I don’t regret that at all; this is why I don’t regret doing this…because I could fully invest myself in the beauty that is Sam Cortland. I feel like if I had read this book when it was meant to be read, closer too the middle of the series, than I would have been too wrapped up in my other “bookish boyfriends” of this fantastic series…such as Dorian, Chaol or Rowan. However, by reading this book after the sixth book, I was able to commit my entire love and literary imagination to Sam and his character…and the horrible things that happened to him in the end that resulted in his gruesome death. Of all the horrible things that have happened to Aelin (Celaena), including the final scene in Empire of Storms when Queen Maeve takes Aelin-the way she was taken was cruel-I now feel, after reading The Assassins Blade-that Sam’s death and the gruesome, cruel way he died is the worst thing to happen to her; and to readers of Miss Maas’s series.

Before reading this book of the series, I had yet to feel sick to my stomach and on the verge of tears, but after knowing how Sam died in that horrible way, I just did not want to continue reading this book because I was afraid to feel the loss, as a reader, when he died; I wasn’t disappointed. I explained in an update on Goodreads, when I was around page 390, that as I crept closer and closer to the scene were Sam died I started to slow down on my reading of the book and took my time when I was reading…I just didn’t want to have him ripped from my readers character heart.

I say kudos to Celaena for even being able to live on and fight after a grotesque death like Sam’s. If you think this book doesn’t enhance the Throne of Glass series then you are SO WRONG, The Assassings Blade adds to much to the series as a whole. Read it. Read it now.

Happy Reading!

xoxoSarah

Leave a Reply

